2014 Indiana NENA Award Recipients

Pictured from left to right

  • Monroe Co. Central Dispatch Director, Jeff Schemmer
  • Elkhart PD Cpl., Cody Skipper
  • Elkhart PD Cpl., Jason Tripp
  • Dispatcher, Justin Yoder
  • Bartholomew Co. Director, Ed Reuter

Service Award – Honorable Mention

On January 15, 2014, at 10:07 p.m. Elkhart City Communications received a 911 call from the Martin Supermarket in Elkhart, Indiana reporting a subject with a gun shooting at people in the store. Dispatcher Justin Yoder answered the call and within seven seconds dispatched police officers to the scene. While remaining calm on the phone, he was able to obtained critical information as to where the exits were, how many victims there were, what area in the store the shots were coming from and how many shooters. During this time he was able to relay information to the responding police officers. Elkhart Police Department Officers Corporals Cody Skipper and Jason Tripp entered Martin's Supermarket armed with their issued AR-15s. While moving to locate the threat, the officers encountered the store manager, who was being held at gunpoint, and he called out to officers that the suspect had a gun and a knife.

Director Sheila Malone said "an Active Shooter is a call that many of us have not received in the past and during this tragic event, the responses of all emergency personnel and information gathering was handled exceptionally well. With the extremely fast dispatch to get the officers there quickly, we are sure that lives were saved that night."