2014 Indiana NENA Award Recipients

Pictured from left to right

  • Kosciusko 911 Comm Dir, David Rosenberry
  • Dispatcher, Trina Gard
  • Dispatcher, Jessica Scheil
  • Asst 911 Comm Dir, Sarah Lancaster
  • Not Pictured is Dispatcher Tina Cook

Teamwork Award-Co Winners

On May 22, 2013, at 3:30 p.m., Kosciusko Communications Center began receiving numerous 911 calls of three school buses colliding loaded with children who sustained multiple injuries. Upon the arrival of the first responders, dispatchers were requested to call for mutual aid from surrounding agencies. Over 20 officers from four police agencies, two fire departments, nine ambulances and one medical helicopter were dispatched to the scene. As expected, the dispatch center became inundated with radio and telephone calls including the media. Within 20 minutes of this accident the dispatchers also received calls of three additional accidents involving eight vehicles, one of which involved two off duty police officers. The dispatchers were also called upon to assist in coordinating a second triage location at another school for doctors to exam the children and for parents to pick them up.

Kosciusko 911 Communications Director David Rosenberry said "The amount of teamwork, coordination and cooperation between the dispatchers was second to none. I cannot be more proud of dispatchers Jessica Scheil, Tina Cook and Trina Gard".