2015 Indiana NENA Award Recipients

Pictured from left to right

  • Monroe Co. Central Dispatch Director, Jeff Schemmer
  • Wayne County Communications Director, Matthew Cain
  • Supervisor, Jonathon Duke
  • Dispatcher, Indie Pierce
  • Dispatcher, Tia Penaranda

Teamwork Award-Co Winners

Wayne County communications officers Jonathon Duke, Tia Penaranda, Indie Pierce and Matthew Cain were recognized for their teamwork efforts on July 13, 2014. On what started out as a quiet Sunday morning Deputy Director answered a call that morning of a Ford Mustang being reported stolen from a local truck stop and sped away at a high rate of speed on I-70. Within about one minute and twelve seconds the center began receiving hundreds of calls of a sports car driving head-on into a Greyhound Bus near the 149 mile marker. The Wayne County Emergency Communications Center had reached capacity of calls that were rolling over to Fayette and Union County dispatch centers. The initial calls into the center were very grim reporting the bus had several passengers that appeared to be deceased. Twenty-nine law enforcement officers, seven fire apparatus along with twelve ambulances were dispatched to the scene. The dispatchers were completely inundated with addition calls for service and follow-up calls for the first responders. Along with this work the news media began to call from as far away as the Los Angeles Times, Fox News, and the Associated Press. Wayne County Sheriff commended the dispatchers for their calm demeanor transgressed over the air to the first responders keeping them calm. The interagency cooperation and communications was exceptional under the extremely stressful conditions.